Roadmap Overview

As a collaborative effort between iNEMI and the MIT Microphotonics Center, the IPSR Roadmap draws synergy from these two organizations’ histories of success in coordinating technology vision, developing new technology and implementing effective manufacturing. IPSR will integrate, and expand upon, the roadmapping efforts of both partners to address the systems as well as manufacturing needs of integrated photonics.

The roadmap is developed by eight coordinated Technology Working Groups (TWGs). These TWGs are similar to existing iNEMI and Microphotonics Center TWGs and inlcude many members from existing iNEMI-MIT groups; however, they differ in scope and their charters are more tightly focused.

The PEGs and TWGs meet independently plus hold two joint workshops where each group presents its work to the other stakeholders.  These meetings are designed to bring together the fragmented, customization-focused photonics industry to engage collaboratively in developing a common roadmap. 

All stakeholder organizations are welcomed to participate as long as they contribute. To participate in an IPSR TWG or PEG please contact the chair. The eight IPSR Technology Working Groups (TWGs) and three Product Emulator Groups (PEGs) are:

Technology Working Groups (TWGs)

Monolithic Integration TWG
Chair: Lionel Kimerling, MIT     

  • Chips: silicon photonics, InP
  • Design for manufacturing
  • Trade-offs for cost, bandwidth density, power efficiency and functional latency

Packaging of Electronic-Photonic Systems
Chair: Bill Bottoms, Third Millennium Test Solutions (3MTS) 

  • Cost, materials, heat, footprint, port count, bandwidth, integration, functionality

Connectors TWG
Chair: John MacWilliams, US Competitiors 

  • All separable interfaces within the system scope

Assembly TWG
Chair: Dick Otte, Promex Industries  

  • Design for manufacturing
  • Assembly
  • Supply chain trade-offs

Test TWG
Acting Chair: Dick Otte, Promex Industries

  • Photonic and electrical test at all levels

Substrates TWG
Chair: Voya Markovich, Endicott Technologies (retired)

  • All substrates external to the package, including circuit board and backplane components

Electronic-Photonic Design Automation TWG
Chair: Brett Attaway, AIM Photonics

  • Integrated system simulation and design tools

Photonic Sensors TWG
Co-Chairs: Ben Miller, University of Rochester; Anu Agarwal, MIT

  • Photonic sensors for a wide range of markets


Product Emulator Groups (PEGs)

Data Center PEG

Chair: Robert Pfahl, iNEMI

  • High bandwidth, low latency, efficient power
  • Electronic to optoelectronic, and Optoelectronic to Electronic
  • Applications focus  on IT and Data Communications

Internet of Things (IoT) PEG
Chair: Richard Grzybowski, Photonic Controls    

  • Low bandwidth, “High” latency, low power
  • Primarily electronic to optoelectronic
  • Applications include IoT, military sensors