Executive Advisory Board

Responsibilities of the IPSR Executive Advisory Board

The responsibilities of the Integrated Photonic Systems Roadmap (IPSR) Executive Advisory Board (EAB) are to develop trust, cooperation, and shared objectives within a leadership team that is representative of the manufacturing supply chain for integrated photonics. The function of the board is to provide the executive-level industry support and advice that will be essential for a successful stand-up of the American Institute for Manufacturing Integrated Photonics (AIM Photonics).  The board will advise the IPSR Director on:
  • Guiding the scope of the roadmap
  • Recommending and approving TWG Leaders
  • Coordinating the IPRS and AIM Photonic Technical Plan
The board members include representatives of major firms, and small and medium sized enterprises.  Each member is selected to represent a portion of the extended integrated photonic systems supply chain.
The board will have 13 members chosen according to the following table to insure representation from the entire “big M” supply chain.  The board will have three or four meetings per year, and three at most will be face to face.  Face-to-face meetings will be held at MIT in conjunction with IPSR Spring and Fall Workshops and at OFC. 
Representing Organization Individual Position
Commercial OEM Cisco Kal Shastri Distinguished Engineer
Commercial OEM      
Military OEM      
Semiconductor Manufacturer Intel Bob Sankman Intel Fellow
Small Assembly Manufacturer Promex Industries Richard Otte President
Medium-Sized Integrated Photonics OEMs MACOM Richard Grzybowski Director of R&D
EMS Provider Celestica Irene Sterian Director, Product Enablement
Component Manufacturer TE Connectivity Terry Bowen Fellow-Corporate Technology
Stakeholder OSA Industry Development Associates Thomas Hausken Senior Advisor
Commercial Customer Facebook Katharine Schmidtke Strategic Sourcing Manager
R&D Funding      
Department of Defense